Skip to content

Reminder – KYTC District 7 can remove improperly placed signage

State law (KRS 177.106) prohibits encroachments on state right of way without a permit – this includes roadside sales

LEXINGTON, Ky. (Oct. 10, 2022)  Kentucky Transportation Cabinet crews can remove improperly placed items along state maintained right of way areas. Political candidates, residents, business operators and property owners along US and KY routes are reminded that no signage is allowed on right of way — other than official highway signs and items approved through a permit process.

Any campaign signs must be placed beyond right of way limits. Right of way fence is included with this restriction. For roads with a right of way fence, no signs may be attached. Trash cleanup cycles are scheduled periodically. Items placed on right of way create significant delays for mowing crews and are potential hazards for mowing operators and passing motorists.

KYTC takes this opportunity to educate citizens about state right of way issues. In addition to elections, the restriction often becomes a problem with regard to yard sales and real estate advertising. Improperly placed materials along roads can create additional hazards by blocking sight distance or distracting drivers — particularly at intersections.

It is also improper to attach items such as; flyers, posters, balloons or streamers to stop signs, highway markers or any other road sign or utility pole. Improper placement on utility poles presents additional obstacles and potential dangers for utility crew workers.

Removed items are taken to each county’s KYTC maintenance facility and held for 30 days. Unclaimed materials are trashed or recycled.

With over 3,000 miles of roadway to maintain — District 7 greatly appreciates cooperation within each community regarding improperly placed items along right of way areas.

If you have questions related to proper/improper sign placement, please contact KYTC District 7 in Lexington at 859.246.2355.

KYTC District 7 includes: Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Garrard, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Scott and Woodford Counties

Leave a Comment